where are my rights God in human’s own formulated laws

categories of children with special needs

There are four major types of special needs children:

  1. Physical – muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, chronic asthma, epilepsy, etc.
  2. Developmental – down syndrome, autism, dyslexia, processing disorders
  3. Behavioral/Emotional – ADD, bi-polar, oppositional defiance disorder, etc.
  4. Sensory Impaired – Blind, visually impaired, deaf, limited hearing

Is your child being treated humanely?  Know your rights.

  1. IDEA (Individuals with Disabilities Education Act)
    1. Students with disabilities must be prepared for further education, employment and independent living
    1. If a child’s strengths, endurance, or stamina cannot keep up with school activities, they qualify for “other health impaired” special education status
  2. Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act
    1. Prohibits schools from discriminating against children with disabilities
    1. Requires schools to provide accommodations for disabled students
    1. Students with impairments that substantially limit a major life activity can qualify as disabled (learning and social deficits too)
  3. Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
    1. Schools must meet the needs of children with psychiatric problems
  4. No Child Left Behind

Schools must uphold achievement standards for children with disabilities

Leave a Reply